Girl Baby Name


Rating :Excellent
4.5 / 5
71 Times rated
Add to My Favorites

Quick Facts on Bella

  • Gender:
  • Girl
  • Origin:
  • Italian
  • Number of syllables:
  • 2
  • Ranking popularity:
  • 58
Simple meaning:

Characteristics of Bella

  • Freedom-loving
  • Adventurous
  • Adaptable
  • Intellectual
  • Easygoing
  • Progressive
  • Sensual

Etymology & Historical Origin - Bella

Bella is the Italian word for “beautiful”. The French equivalent would be Belle. Both words are ultimately derived from the Latin “bellus” meaning “pretty, fair, charming”. Aside from the name’s “beautiful” Italian translation, Bella is also often considered a short form of Isabella or Annabella (or any name ending with the “-bella” suffix for that matter: Arabella, Mirabella, etc). As a female given name, Bella is more of an invention among English speakers. In other words, Italians don’t go around naming their baby daughters “Bella”. In Italy, the word is more of an affectionate nickname given to any woman considered beautiful. However, within English speaking nations, the name Bella is hot, hot, hot right now. It’s especially popular in Australia, New Zealand and America; but it’s also ranked very high in England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales. Parents are going bananas over this simple Italian beauty. And who can blame them?

Popularity of the Name Bella

American parents have been naming their daughters Bella since at least the 19th century. The name entered the 20th century in 1900 at position #389 out of 1000 on the charts. This means the name was used with only moderate success. As you can see by the chart below, Bella really dropped in popularity during the 1920s and finally retreated into the shadows in 1931 (the year the name fell off America’s Top 1000 list). Bella’s hiatus from usage would last a whopping 68 years before returning to the charts in the year 2000. Many people erroneously believe that Stephenie Meyer’s ϋber-popular character Bella Swan from her Twilight Series of books is what has prompted the renewed interest in this name. But this is simply not true. Twilight was not published until the end of 2005 and Bella was already quickly ascending the charts. Perhaps Bella Swan did help bolster this name’s rapid fire success among parents, but trust us when we say Bella was already headed for the Top 100 list before this fictional pop-culture icon entered our collective imaginations. Not to mention Bella is a widely given name among pet rabbits, cats and small dogs. While some folks may prefer Bella as a nickname for Isabella or Annabella rather than an independently given name, it’s hard to argue the “beautiful” nature of this name. Yes, it’s currently common and arguably overly trendy right now, yet we totally understand its attractiveness. It’s delicate, sweet and ultra-feminine.
Popularity of the Girl Name Bella
You need Adobe Flash Player 6 (or above) to view the charts. It is a free and lightweight installation from Please click here to install the same.

Cultural References to the Baby Name - Bella

  • Literary Characters of the baby name Bella

    Literary Characters of the Baby Name Bella

    Bella Swan (Twilight Series) Isabella Swan is the main character in Stephanie Meyer's Twilight book series, although she is called "Bella" throughout the novels. She is an average girl who moves from Arizona to a remote part of Washington state to live with her father. There, she befriends, is intrigued by, and eventually falls in love with a vampire named Edward Cullen. Strong, independent, sassy and willful, it seems everyone falls under the spell of this girl, including the werewolf/friend Jacob Black. But Bella's heart remains with Edward, and this devotion propels her to join the coven of vampires herself.

    Bella Wilfer (Our Mutual Friends) Bella Wilfer is an important character in Charles Dickens’ last novel, Our Mutual Friend, written in 1864/5. Bella figures in the will of wealthy old Mr. Harmon, who conditionally leaves his fortune to his absentee son, John, if he marries her. John has never met her, and naturally objects to this little coda. Consequently, he fakes his own death and moves in with the family who are fostering Bella and who conveniently have also inherited Mr. Harmon’s estate. Well, this is Dickens, after all! Bella is a product of a manipulative, money-loving mother and a gentle, doting father. During the course of the novel, she moves from taking after one parent to the other. Initially bound and determined to marry for money, she eventually concedes to marry John Harmon, not knowing his true identity and believing him to be poor. She becomes a loving and devoted wife to him, and - voila – finds out she hit the jackpot. Thus is rather shaky virtue rewarded! Truth be told, she was somewhat more interesting before she found religion!

  • Popular Songs on Bella

    Popular Songs on Bella

    Bella - a song by Beady Belle

    Bella - a song by Santana

    Bella (She’s All I Ever Had) - a song by Ricky Martin

    Bella Bella Signorina - a song by Patrizio Buanne

    Bella Ciao - a song by Bella Ciao

    Bella Donna - a song by Stevie Nicks

    Bella Linda - a song by The Grass Roots

    Bella Luna - a song by Jason Mraz

    Earth to Bella (Part I) - a song by Incubus

    Earth to Bella (Part II) - a song by Incubus

  • Children's Books on the Baby Name Bella

    Children's Books on the Baby Name Bella

    Bella & Bean (Rebecca Kai Dotlich) - Bella wants to write poems. Bean wants to go for a walk. Bella wants to write poems. Bean wants Bella to look at her cute toes. Could these two best friends be more different? But as Bean's attempt to coax Bella away from her notepad become ever more over the top, Bella finds her poetry taking unexpected twists. You might be a Bella or you could be a Bean - either way, this sweet, clever tale will remind you there is perfect poetry to mismatched friends. Recommended for ages 4-8.

    Bella and Stella Come Home (Anika Denise) - After Bella says good-bye to her old house, it's time to meet her new one. But this house isn't anything like Bella expected. The entranceway has ten steps instead of three, the bathtub has feet, and worst of all, it does not feel like home. But Bella knows how to be brave, and with her imaginary best friend Stella by her side, it doesn't take long for her feelings about her new house to change-especially when she spies a next-door neighbor who looks like he'd make a perfect new friend. Recommended for ages 4-8.

    Bella Basset Ballerina (Laura Aimee Garn) - When Bella Basset sees a ballet for the first time, she knows that she wants to be a dancer. But in the dog world, where Bella lives, only Borzois can dance. Basset Hounds are supposed to stay in the country and work on the farm. Can Bella fina a way to realize her dreams? Recommended for ages 4-8.

    Bella Bunhead (Alessa Neeck) - Bella and her loyal dog Bruno are on a mission. Bella wants to find what makes her special. Will it be soccer, singing, or maybe gymnastics? Join Bella, Bruno and their friends on an adventure as they discover that anything is possible when you believe in yourself! This picture book will delight young readers as they join in on the fun with Bella Bunhead. Recommended for ages 4-8.

    Bella Loves Bunny (David McPhail) - A companion board book to Ben Loves Bear, Bella Loves Bunny shares the sweet story of friendship between a little girl and her beloved stuffed bunny rabbit, from morning till night. Bella and Bunny do everything together. In the morning, they play piano and dance (and hop!). In the afternoon, Bella has lunch and Bunny has carrot cake. At night, they pick out Bella’s favorite pajamas and snuggle close until they fall asleep. McPhail’s simple text and heartwarming illustrations come together to make an irresistible book that young readers will fall in love with. Kirkus Reviews calls this book “A lovely depiction of a first friendship." Recommended for ages 2-5.

    Bella The Bunny Fairy (Daisy Meadows) - Jack Frost has stolen the Pet Fairies' magical pets! Can Rachel and Kirsty help find them? Or will the pets be lost forever? The Pet Fairies have one of the most important jobs in Fairyland! They work with their special pets to make sure that all animals find safe homes. But now Jack Frost has stolen the magical pets! Could they be lost forever? At an Easter egg hunt, Rachel and Kirsty spot a color-changing rabbit! Could it be the Easter Bunny, or is it Bella the Bunny Fairy's missing rabbit, Misty? Find the magical pet in each book and help keep all the animals safe! Recommended for ages 4-8.

    Bella's Rules (Elissa Haden Guest) - In the vein of Eloise and Marley, here's an adorable tale of two well-intentioned rule breakers who show each other how friends deserve to be treated. Bella knows her family's rules by heart, but she much prefers her own: Candy for breakfast, no hair-washing, and no such thing as bedtime. And then...Bella the wild child gets a new pet! At first, Bella and Puppy are the very best of friends. But when it turns out that Puppy doesn't like the family rules either (including the rule not to gnaw off Bella's teddy bear's arm),'s time for a little puppy training. And Bella might just learn a thing or two herself! Recommended for ages 3-5.

    Queen-a-Bella Finds a Best Friend (Lisl Fair) - An Illustrated Children's Picture Book about Tolerance and Making New Friends. If your child loves stories by Margaret Wise Brown, Alison Green, and A.A. Milne, your child will enjoy this endearing tale about an imaginative little rabbit who wants a best friend more than anything else in the world told by Lisl Fair.Meet Queen-a-Bella, the fluffy rabbit in her favorite red tutu and follow her on her quest to find a best friend. "No, I can never be your best friend. You're soft and downy and I'm all smooth and scaly. It will never work. We're too different." Queen-a-Bella stamped her foot on the rock. "Well, that doesn't matter 'cause friends love each other just the way they are!" Recommended for ages 2-5.

  • Famous People Named Bella

    Famous People Named Bella

    Famous People Named Bella - Bella Abzug ("Battling Bella" notable feminist); Bella Abzug (Filipino actress); Bella Freud (English fashion designer); Bella Igla (Israeli chess Grandmaster); Bella Rosenfeld (wife of artist Marc Chagall); Annabella "Bella" Thorne (actress)

  • Children of Famous People Named Bella

    Children of Famous People Named Bella

    Famous People Who Named Their Daughter Bella - Eddie Murphy (comic/actor); Billy Bob Thornton (actor)

  • Historic Figures

    Bella - Girl Baby Name - Historic Figures

    Bella - We cannot find any historically significant people with the first name Bella.

Personality of the Girl Name Bella

The number Five personality loves the excitement of life and can easily adapt to all situations. As natural adventurers, these personalities thrive on the new and unexpected and prefer to be in constant motion. It makes them feel alive. They'll stir up some action if there's not enough around, and as inherent risk-takers they enjoy pushing the envelope. Naturally rebellious, the Five personality has no fear and never resists change.  Traveling and new experiences feed their souls. Fives are very social and attract friends with ease. People love to be around the Five fun-loving and exciting energy.  This is also a lucky number in numerology (like the Threes), so fortune seems to shine on them, helped along by their own optimism and good-nature. Fives have a quick wit, a cerebral mind, and are generally very persuasive. 

Variations of the Baby Name - Bella

Copyright © 2016 Oh Baby! Names